Experimenting with Solo play in a hexcrawl-based world

Edit: I see that the formatting didn’t turn out great. But I’m too lazy to fix it. Sue me.

Edit 2: Actually, the formatting was too atrocious, so I’ve now fixed it.

I’m preparing a West Marches-style 5E campaign, which I have enjoyed a lot. But lately, I’ve been listening to excellent Solo play podcasts such as Tale of the Manticore and Legend of the Bones. This gave me the idea that I can solo play in my own barely-started world as a world-building excercise. Also, it sounds like fun, so I want to try it.

I haven’t played OSE before, but it seems to be an easier system for this sort of thing than 5E, so I decided to buy the Advanced Fantasy books and learn that system for this experiment. So now, I’m just getting started, and I thought I could post here and perhaps get some feedback on my gameplay - I’m sure (in fact, I know) that I don’t do everything the way the books tell me to.

I’ve created four characters, all level 1 humans:

1. Azura the Ranger
  2. Arendel the Cleric
  3. Derugan the Magic-user
  4. Dana the Thief (and incidentally, Azura’s sister)

What follows is an excerpt from my journal. I haven’t began actual play yet, so far all I’ve done is run test combats to try to learn the system. This is a bit long, so I’m not expecting anyone to read all of it.

1. Test combat #3

Now let’s also use the rules for range and surprise at the beginning of the combat. The party will face 3 Ghouls, AC 6, 9 HP, 2 x claw 1d3 + paralysis & bite 1d3 + paralysis, THAC0 18. That’s 3 potentially paralysing attacks each round - from each ghoul. This will not be an easy fight.

2. Combat start

Referring to the rules summer at the end of the Referee’s Tome.

3. Surprise

Each side rolls a d6. A result of 1 or 2 means that side is surprised. Let’s see the rolls.

The ghouls:

1d6

Result: 1

The party:

1d6

Result: 3

It looks like the ghouls have been surprised! This is great news for the party.